Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
  This Site
The Encyclopedia    
When Coal Was King
Industry, People and Challenges
Heritage Community Foundation, Year of the Coalminer, Albertasource and Cultural Capital of Canada logos

Home     |      About     |      Contact Us     |      Sponsors     |      Sitemap     |      Search

spacer
spacer
Les gens des mines de charbon
quicklinks
quicklinks

Page 1 | 2 | 3


[Click here for text in English]

[<< Précédent]

Les mineurs et le gouvernement local

Comme résultat d'une grêve qui a divisé des familles et des amis, Blairmore a élu en 1933 un Conseil ne comptant que des ouvriers. Ils ont procédé à nettoyer les processus de la ville, et on renommé, pour un court temps, le boulevard central en honneur du dirigeant communiste, Tim Buck. Conseilliers de la ville de Blairmore: Rangée de devant:  Harvey Murphy, Joe Anschacher, Angelo Pagnucco, Maire William Knight, Joe Krkosky Sr., Jack Packer, Evan Morgan, Sam Patterson, Ole Olson, Joe Krkosky Jr., Police Chief Fitz Patrick, Norman Bonneau, Albert Bosetti, Domenic Campo, Goerge Maniquet, Gaston Bazzill, Leo Amadino.Les mineurs ne tendaient pas à avoir beaucoup influence sur la politique locale. Ils étaient exclus des centres qui n’étaient pas incorporés, et dans des endroits comme Lethbridge ou Edmonton, ils ne composaient pas une grande proportion de la population. Dans certains villages incorporés dans le pas du Nid-du-Corbeau, ils ne commencent à avoir du pouvoir qu’après 1918. Leur expérience durant la Grande Guerre et après, donne naissance à une position extrémiste, et les mineurs ont une influence profonde sur les politiques locales à Blairmore et à Coleman, entre 1920 et 1940. Blairmore est le seul endroit où ils deviennent dominants. L’administration gauchiste qui est élue dans les séquelles de la grève acrimonieuse du pas du Nid-du-Corbeau de 1932, maintien le pouvoir jusqu’aux années 1940. Dans la plupart des communautés, les travailleurs doivent se contenter de l’influence qu’ils exercent par le biais de leurs syndicats et autres organisations sociales. Ils ont un potentiel de pouvoir, mais il n’est généralement pas exprimé dans la politique municipale.1

William N. T. Wylie, « Coal-Mining Landscapes: Commemorating Coal Mining in Alberta and Southeastern British Columbia », une étude sur la commémoration de l'industrie houllière en Alberta et dans le sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique préparée pour la Commission des sites et monuments historiques au Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada, 2001

Voir aussi: L'industrie houllière—Aperçu, La croissance rapide, Les terrains de charbon domestique et de chaudière, L'industrie en déclin (1914-1947), Effrondrement et renaissance, L'établissement de l'Ouest, Questions et défis—Aperçu, Entreprenariat, Technologie, Techniques souterraines, La technologie de surface, Extraction à ciel ouvert, Les effets sociaux, Unions, Implantation et gains syndicaux (1882-1913), Mouvement révolutionnaire (1914-1920), Complications et difficultés (1921-1950), Compagnies houillières, Les gens des mines de charbon, La classe moyenne, Les mineurs et le gouvernement local, Politiques et économie, Effets environnementaux, Santé et sécurité—Aperçu, Les relations entre l’État et les ouvriers, L'Etat et le développement après 1918.

 

bottom spacer

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
            For more on coal mining in Western Canada, visit Peel’s Prairie Provinces.
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved

Heritage Community Foundation Presents
Alberta Online Encyclopedia
  This Site
The Encyclopedia    
When Coal Was King
Industry, People and Challenges
Heritage Community Foundation, Year of the Coalminer, Albertasource and Cultural Capital of Canada logos

Home     |      About     |      Contact Us     |      Sponsors     |      Sitemap     |      Search

spacer
spacer
People of the Coal Mines
quicklinks
quicklinks

Page 1 | 2 | 3


[Cliquez ici pour le texte en français]

[<< Previous]

Miners and Local Government

As a result of an 8-month strike that split friends and families, in 1933 Blairmore elected a Town Council completely made up of workers.  They proceeded to clean up town administrative practices and re-name, for a short time, the central boulevard in honour of Communist leader Tim Buck. Blairmore Town Councillors:  Front roe:  Harvey Murphy, Joe Anschacher, Angelo Pagnucco, Mayor William Knight, Joe Krkosky Sr., Jack Packer, Evan Morgan, Sam Patterson, Ole Olson, Joe Krkosky Jr., Police Chief Fitz Patrick, Norman Bonneau, Albert Bosetti, Domenic Campo, Goerge Maniquet, Gaston Bazzill, Leo Amadino.The extent of the influence miners wielded over local politics tended to be small. They were shut out in centres which were unincorporated, or in places, such as Lethbridge or Edmonton, where they did not comprise a large part of the population. In certain incorporated towns in the Crowsnest Pass, they began to be influential after 1918. Radicalized by their experience during the Great War and afterwards, miners exerted a profound influence on local politics in Blairmore and Coleman, between the 1920s and 1940s. Blairmore was the only community in which they became dominant. The left-wing administration, elected there in the wake of the bitter Crowsnest Pass strike of 1932, continued to hold power into the 1940s. In most communities, workers had to be content with the influence they exerted through their unions and other social organizations. They comprised a potent force, but not one usually expressed in municipal politics.1

William N.T. Wylie, "Coal-Mining Landscapes: Commemorating Coal Mining in Alberta and Southeastern British Columbia," a report prepared for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Parks Canada Agency, 2001.

See Also: The Coal Industry—Overview, Rapid Expansion, Domestic and Steam Coalfields, 1914-1947: The Struggling Industry, Collapse and Rebirth, Settlement of the West, Issues and Challenges—Overview, Entrepreneurship, Technology, Underground Techniques, Surface Technology, Surface Mining, Social Impacts, Unions, 1882-1913: Unionization and Early Gains, 1914-1920: Revolutionary Movement, 1921-1950s: Labour Unrest and Setbacks, Mining Companies, People of the Coal Mines,  The Middle Class, Miners and Local Government, Politics and Economics , Environmental Impacts, Health and Safety—Overview, The State and Labour Relations, The State and Development after 1918.

 

bottom spacer

Albertasource.ca | Contact Us | Partnerships
Copyright © Heritage Communty Foundation All Rights Reserved